Just a few years ago this site along the Rock River was nearly lost to trees and vegetation, but through the efforts of area volunteers the foundation of the former North Side Brewery, dating back to 1857, is now transformed so visitors can make their way through the engine rooms, concrete floored Fermenting Cellar, and the lower portion of the Brew House. The North Side Brewery was founded in 1856 by a future Mayor of Janesville, Anson Rogers, and operated until 1939. The impressive 30'x60' concrete floored Fermenting Cellar was installed by Louis F. Knipp around 1892. There are QR codes displayed at the site to take a 10-minute self-guided tour along remnants of a malt house, fermenting cellar, and ammonia condenser area. As always, please be respectful of this piece of Janesville's past.

Work continues and the entire brewery foundation will eventually be exposed. The site is easily accessible from the paved Ice Age Trail, with a small parking lot at the adjacent Ice Age Trail trailhead off Franklin St. While the trail itself is paved and wheelchair accessible, the brewery site is unpaved, with rough terrain. Click here to view a video showing the site's history and progress.

  • Downtown

Address: Ice Age Trail at Mineral Point & Franklin St - Janesville - WI, 53548
Email:  janesvillebreweries@gmail.com